Skip to content
April 4, 2012 / Gina D.

Happy Social Media Month!

For months, I’ve had this mounting, lingering, looming feeling that I haven’t been doing nearly enough to forward the social media efforts of the three papers whose multimedia progress I’m charged with leading. That we’re starting to get behind, which will make it impossible to ever really catch up.

Of course, in social media, there’s really no catching up. By the time you’ve got the latest craze “figured out,” they’ve got a new version set to launch that’s going to propel your efforts in a different direction. Or something entirely new shows up, gains some traction, and suddenly, you’ve got an entirely new monster to tame.

As far as I can tell, that’s just the way it’s always going to be. And I think that guilt that I — and probably anyone else in a similar position — feel about not doing enough, not attaining a certain level of expertise, or not being able to devote enough time to researching, coaching or even participating in social media enough to hit the levels of participation we feel would be “enough”… It just goes to show you how much of a rabbit hole you could find yourself in if not in the right frame of mind.

So I had to hit the reset button on my outlook. And here’s what I came up with:

I have unofficially declared April as Social Media Month. There’s so much out there, with so much potential, and so little time (if any at all) to research, train and inform, that I’ve decided to break it all down into more easily digestible bites and issue daily challenges to all of our newsroom staff, which I’ll post here as well.

Some challenges will be tasks, others will be invitations to investigate or participate. Hopefully, by the end of the month, I’ll feel like we’ve made some progress. At some point in the very near future, I need to sit down and iron out a more tangible set of goals for this exercise so that I can later evaluate its success or failure before retooling it for May… June… November… 2013…

But for now, happy Social Media Month to you all, and to all a good site.

Leave a Reply

